A birthday cake fit for a Captain

Rumor has it that like fine wine, plumduff (a.k.a. the Captain) gets better with every passing year! To mark that fact on her birthday, I made her a very simple birthday cake. Since we’re big fans of Cooking Lite here at the Awesomesauce of Greater Boston, this is the relatively-healthy cake and icing recipe I used.

A whale cake for the Captain
Here’s the wet batter mix. I hand beat everything, as I totally refuse to use an electric mixer unless I really really have to.

A whale cake for the Captain
The batter all set and ready to go in the cake pans. Instead of making buttermilk as milk + white vinegar, I actually bought real buttermilk at Trader Joe’s. Maybe it’s just my imagination but to me this was why the cake came out well.

A whale cake for the Captain
See, here are the cakes exactly 30 minutes later, perfectly moist and delicious. It was not a lie.

A whale cake for the Captain
Blehh. Now just to spite the awesome cake, the icing was a disappointment — it was supposed to be a merengue, the flavor and general texture was good, but the consistency was all wrong. I clearly fatigued the egg whites while making the icing. Merengue is so hard to make so I’m not too disappointed. After letting the icing sit it did solidify just enough to coat the cake, though it kind of looked… gloopy.
Flavor-wise it was good though. I added a teaspoon of rose water to the icing just to see how it would affect the flavor. Conclusion: barely detectable. Maybe next time I’ll add a bit more to the cake itself to give it fragrance.

A whale cake for the Captain
Here’s the whale decoration I made for the top — cut out a whale shape from a piece of paper and used spray-on decoration that I had left over from Halloween. It’s black spray food coloring, but sprayed lightly enough it looks gray! I used a whole clove for the eye and put the candle on the blowhole.

A whale cake for the Captain
And here’s the candle all lit and ready for birthday wishes.

Many happy returns to the Captain of the Awesomesauce!

Leave a Reply

