Corned beef and leftovers, part 2

So, now that I’ve got about half of the corned beef and cabbage hanging out in my refrigerator, what should I do next?

Leftover dish #1? Corned beef hash.

This was pretty good. The only downside to my hash was that it aggravated my TMJ.  (Was it the hash or the slightly overcooked corned beef that was the culprit? I will not know until next year when I make more). You want equal portions of cooked potatoes and corned beef. My amounts were approximately:

2 cups potatoes (quarter and boil for about 12 minutes before using them in the hash)
2 cups of corned beef
1 bunch of scallions, white parts and some of the green parts (just don’t use any green parts that look sad)
freshly ground black pepper, to taste
(makes about 4 servings)

First, finely chop the corned beef. Feel free to sneak in a few pieces of the leftover cabbage.  I know I did.  Then, chop up the potatoes. Slice the scallions thinly, throw in some black pepper, and mix everything together. Set aside.

In a large non-stick pan, drizzle some oil or a pat of butter over medium heat. Add the beef and potatoes to the pan. Spread evenly and flatten out the mixture with your spatula. You should be hearing a nice sizzle from the oil while you do this.

Now, do not touch the hash for 5 minutes. Let it crust up and brown nicely. After 5 minutes, flip over the hash as best you can. Let the new side brown for another 5 minutes. Do this about three more times to get a nice build up of browned crust.

When you’re done, turn off the heat and plate the hash.  Serve.

Personally, I did not think that this needed additional salt while cooking.  The corned beef is pretty salty and it was enough for me.  You might want to add a pinch of salt while cooking if you already know that you tend to be heavier handed with the stuff.

So, we’re done with corned beef now.  Right?  Nope.  I’ve got one more corned beef related post coming.  (^_^)

Reference links:
http://foodwishes.blogspot.com/2009/02/im-in-corned-beef-hash-heaven.html
http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/corned_beef_hash/

Leave a Reply

