Pumpkin yogurt, or when experiments go well

I finally got around to making yogurt. It’s pretty easy even though the directions can be lengthy. For little ol’ me, who doesn’t eat a lot of yogurt over the course of a week, making a quart of plain yogurt does not save me any money. Chances are that a quart of whole milk costs the same as a quart of plain yogurt at your local market. Factor in labor and the energy your stove took to cook up the yogurt, you realize that it’s not cost effective at all unless you make big batches of yogurt at once.

You would think that this means that I won’t be making yogurt anymore, right? No, not quite.

Yogurt fans will probably think this is heretical of me, but I don’t like sour and thick yogurt like Greek yogurt. In fact, I can barely sit through a serving of any kind of Greek yogurt. I’m not a fan of yogurt when it comes down to it. Or at least, I thought I wasn’t. Much to my delight, freshly made yogurt is wonderfully creamy and sweet. It took 3-4 days before my yogurt tasted as tart as store bought yogurt.

Plus, I think it would be fun to try different brands of yogurt as your starter culture.  My starter culture was Trader Joe’s European Style whole milk yogurt.  Asano-mama (remember her?  *smile*) dropped me a message and said that she was a big fan of Stonyfield Farm as her starter.  She didn’t like Fage or Market Basket (our local supermarket) as starter cultures.

What else?  I mixed my plain homemade yogurt with pumpkin butter and my opinion of yogurts was changed forever.

The pumpkin butter that I have in my kitchen right now is from War Eagle Mill. I like War Eagle Mill for buying  spelt flour (um, I might have purchased 25lbs of spelt flour last month), and I thought I would give some of their other products a try. I ordered pumpkin butter, sweet potato butter, and huckleberry jam. I’ve only tried the pumpkin butter, which is quite yummy (it’s like pumpkin pie in a jar!), but I was disappointed to learn that high fructose corn syrup was in all three products. The mill’s website doesn’t list ingredients of their prepared foods, so just a word to the wise. If you desperately need to know what the ingredients are, I suggest emailing the mill. Their customer service support was wonderfully responsive when I emailed a question about an item listed as ‘out of stock’.  (The item was *in* stock, and their support person updated the product page for me that day.)

But, anyway, one part pumpkin to five parts plain homemade yogurt, and I am a very happy girl. ^_^

But next time? I’ll make my own pumpkin butter.

** for anyone wondering where the updates for my mantou and black sesame soup are, they are still “works in progress.” I only have so much room in my fridge and freezer for my cooking projects… you did read the part where I bought 25lbs of spelt flour, right? lol!

Reference links:
http://wareaglemill.com/
http://www.makeyourownyogurt.com/

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin yogurt, or when experiments go well

  1. I just made some homemade yogurt too…in my crockpot! So easy and pain free. But I really do not like yogurt either. It was pretty tart right out of the pot, so I refrigerated it, mixed in some stevia and problem solved! It is soooo good. And I had the amazing idea for Pumpkin yogurt as well, but I wanted to see if anyone else had done it. Glad to have found this because I am going to try it tonight!!!!

    • I hate to admit it, but I don’t have a slow cooker yet! I was really worried that it wasn’t going to set correctly.

      There seem to be a few different factors that affect yogurt, I’ve learned. Like “what did you use for your starter culture?” My friend Maria discovered that different starter cultures produced different flavors. I used Trader Joe’s but she really likes Stoneyfarms. She and her mom tried generic market yogurts as a starter and found that the results tasted weird and like plastic. Also, as you keep using the same culture over and over again, the initial sweetness is lost. Time is also a factor. The longer the yogurt sits in your fridge, the more sour/tart it becomes. At that point, I start adding sugar/agave/honey.

      Sadly, I’m out of pumpkin butter. But I have fig butter! I can’t wait to see how that works in yogurt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

