edible garden, no. 1, 2011

GERMINATION!

I’m stupidly excited. Seeds were planted on Sunday. The first signs of life showed up yesterday in the re-purposed strawberry container that is holding purslane. The purslane seeds I bought are a different variety than what grows wildly here – Goldberg Golden Purslane (Portulaca oleracea sativa). According to Johnny’s Selected Seeds website, it is:
“Crisp and mild. Much larger than the wild form. Pick as needed to within 2” of the base; new stems and leaves regrow. Known as “verdolaga” in Latin America. Sensitive to frost. After spring frost danger, sow about 1/2″ apart in the row, cover 1/4″. Thin to 4-6″ apart. Can also be transplanted. Avg. 65,000 seeds/oz. MINI: 0.15 gm., avg. 350 seeds, sows 15′. Mini: 350 seeds.” It is heat tolerant and good for salad mixes.

Purslane has more omega-3 fatty acids than any other leafy veggie, which is why I decided to grow it. The stems, leaves and flower buds are all edible. I’ve only ever tasted the leaves, but I liked it.

As of tonight, I decided that the baby purslane was cute enough to photograph. I noticed that some of the other seeds have germinated today – my micro salad mix, mizuna, and bak choy. Shiso has yet to show signs of life. But they all kind of look the same right now, all a very pale green. Meanwhile, baby purslane is orange/red. ^_^

I’m also “growing” some scallions in my kitchen.  Well, what really happened was that I had a bunch of scallions that were about to go bad in my fridge.  I read that the green parts can be cut and tossed, while the white part with the root can be placed in water.  The green part will grow back.  In about 24 hours, growth was already noticed.  Once they are ready, I’ll either eat them or plant them in the backyard.

Leave a Reply

