You win some, you lose some

I made a gluten free cake today: a blackberry ricotta cake. The original recipe had been for a blueberry ricotta cake with normal flour. But blueberries aren’t quite in season while blackberries are.

I was so excited when the cake came out of the oven.  It looked gorgeous and delicious.

Then when I took that first bite… I was disappointed.

My brother-in-law described it best, “It doesn’t know what it wants to be.  It should either be cheesier and become a cheesecake, or become sweeter like a sugary cake.”  It wasn’t bad.  It was perfectly edible.  Unfortunately, there was nothing wowing about it.  A guest at the dinner table who I like to call “Mama E” liked the cake the most because it wasn’t too sweet or cloying, but I think I would have preferred that.

Oh well, back to the drawing board.

4 thoughts on “You win some, you lose some

  1. I have a super delicious recipe for strawberry cornbread cake that I make every year when strawberries are in season. I can send it to you if you like.

Leave a Reply

