“sauce”

One of my favorite things to make is applesauce. I can’t stand the stuff from the store. I think it’s tasteless and icky. Homemade applesauce, though, is addictive and easy to make. Recently though, I was given some pears and I thought that I’d try pearsauce. (Quick comment – I’m mildly allergic to uncooked apples and pears.   I cook a lot of my fruit instead of eating them raw.)

This isn’t so much a recipe as it is a guideline. There are different ways to make applesauce and pearsauce. This is just the method that I like to use which involves an oven because I like being able to walk away and attend other things (things like watching the BBC version of “Being Human” or watching translated episodes of “Bistro SMAP”).

  1. Wash, peel, and chop your fruit.
  2. In a baking pan, place your fruit with whatever flavor additions you want. Some of my favorites are apples+cinnamon+prunes and apples+cinnamon+golden raisins. For the pears in the picture, I used powdered ginger, honey, and vanilla. (I accidentally went too heavy on the ginger – oops.) I never measure. Fruit sauce is meant to be uncomplicated. I just put in the amount of ingredients that looks visually balanced to me.
  3. Cover and bake at 350F for 30-40 minutes. If you’re making a small quantity, you can seal everything into a tin foil pouch and pop it into the oven at the same temp/same cooking time.
  4. When it’s done cooking, you can mash with a fork. Or you can transfer it into a jar and blitz it with an immersion blender (my preferred method).
Leave a Reply

