shiso/wine/soy sauce chicken with steamed veggies

As for last week’s CSA, I steamed my baby turnips and kohlrabi. I peeled the skin off the kohlrabi but I should have peeled a little deeper. It was quite fibrous and hard to chew. Flavor-wise, the two veggies are very similar: very clean tasting and a sweet. I preferred the turnips over the kohlrabi. The turnips were very delicate in texture, while the kohlrabi probably could have steamed a minute or two longer. In addition to being more fibrous, the flavor of kohlrabi seemed duller to me.

Since the kohlrabi and the turnips were more of side dishes, I baked up some chicken to complete the meal. The chicken was marinated in white wine, shiso, soy sauce and powdered ginger (I was out of fresh ginger and forgot that I had some stored in the freezer) for 30 minutes, and then baked it. I decided to boil the leftover marinade so that I could use it as a sauce. The chicken recipe was adapted from “Ancient Wisdom, Modern Kitchen: Recipes from the East for Health, Healing, and Long Life” by Yuan Wang, Warren Sheir, and Mika Ono. It’s a cookbook that I keep meaning to utilize more. The nourishing Asian recipes in the book are pretty accurate from what I can tell, and they all sound pretty tasty.

Finally, I added some of the micro-greens from my window sill and some little tomatoes to make it all prettier.

Also, I ate the little strawberry from my container garden when I said I would.  I should have left it for another day or two.  I like my strawberries to be very sweet.  Ah well.  It was still yummy.  (^_^)

Leave a Reply

