Cooking from creative, young minds

disclaimer – I don’t know the “who” behind these recipes. All I know is that they were created by young grade school kids (maybe 1st grade?) back in 2000 as a Mother’s Day project.

I was talking about baking with my 7 year old niece in the office building kitchen when a colleague asked me if I wanted to read his friend’s kid’s cookbook.

wha? Ok, I’m game.

Apparently stashed at his desk, Tom quickly produced a stack of photocopied paper showed signs of love and age.

I read every page in “the cookbook.”  And I can’t stop laughing. Here are a couple of my favorites, exactly copied:

RAINBOW ICE CREAM
15 cups of sugar
17 cups of milk
4 eggs
1 cup of red
1 cup of yellow
1 cup of green
1 cup of blue
1 cup of orange
Put in the bowls.  Then you eat it.  First put the ice cream in the fridge then eat it.

CHICKEN AND FRIES
Put the chicken in the oven.  Then the meat has to be dark.  Then you take it out of the oven.  You cook it very fast and very long.  When you take it out, you eat it with fries.

PIZZA
3 cups pepperoni
1 bread
1 cup cheese
2 scoops of pizza sauce
Put in the oven and bake for 1 hour at 5 degrees.  Then after it is cooked bite it and eat it.

SALAD
6 tomatoes
2 green leaves
4 celery
4 carrots
6 cucumbers
6 green peppers
First you cook this stuff.  Then put it in a plastic bowl and put some salad sauce.

And this one might be my favorite:

SPAGHETTI AND MEATBALLS
First you buy meat, some shark meat.  Then bring it home.  Put it in the bowl.  Then roll it in your hands very carefully, very slowly so the meatballs don’t break.  Then put them in the oven for 5 hours on 7 degrees.  After they are done take them out.  Then put the spaghetti in the oven with some water and milk for 8 hours on 10 degrees.  Then put them on the table and eat them.  It is delicious.

5 thoughts on “Cooking from creative, young minds

  1. We had something like this from my grammar school when I was a kid. There were a couple of actual recipes in there, but most were hilarious. Granted, some of my Grandmother’s recipes are equally hilarious when you’re actually trying to make them. One of my Grandmother’s cookie recipes called for “kneading the dough till nice.”

Leave a Reply

