flourless peanut butter cookies with chocolate chips

This post is dedicated to Martyna of http://wholesomecook.wordpress.com/. The pictures in this post were not taken with my really clunky and heavy digital camera. I recently acquired a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX9 as a result of some confusion and lots of generosity. From here on out, I have no good excuses for leaving my camera at home when I go to food events like the Harvard SEAS lectures.  My WX9 is a travel-friendly small size.

Next time David Chang is in town, I’ll get you a picture of David Chang. (^_^)b

ANYWAY!

So, the holidays are here.  I have food plans for my short winter break, but those plans can’t be put into motion until next week.  I have one last art class tomorrow night.  And then, this weekend, I have a holiday party to attend, and a play-date with my niece who is almost 8 years old.

But, cooking-wise, not all is lost.  On Friday, there’s a potluck at work.  After some internal debate, I decided that cookies were the way to go.  I could make the dough ahead of time, leave it in the fridge until I was ready, and then bake tonight without worries.  My usual go-to-cookie recipe is rosemary butter cookies, but one of my favorite co-workers is gluten intolerant.  My brother-in-law is also gluten intolerant, so I figured I’d make some gluten-free cookies for the potluck and save a few for the BIL when I stop over for my play-date.  (I keep giggling when I write out play-date.  I haven’t been 7 years old in a long, LONG time.)

I had peanut butter and chocolate chips on hand in my kitchen, so I started to do some cookie research.  It turned out that I didn’t have to search very hard at all.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chips
(adapted from everywhere on the internet)

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 cup smooth peanut butter
1 egg
1/2 cup chocolate chips

  1. Mix together the first four ingredients.  It will be a bit of a heavy dough.
  2. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  3. Cover and let the dough firm back up in the fridge.  I guess 1 hour will be enough, but I left mine in the fridge for 2 days before I was ready to bake.
  4. Pre-heat your oven to 350F.
  5. Taking a tablespoon of dough at a time, form balls of cookie dough.  They will be about 1 inch big.  (I doubled the recipe and made about 40 cookies from my dough.)  Place on parchment-lined cookie sheets.
  6. Bake at 350F for 10-12 minutes.  I found that 11 minutes was perfect for me.  Take them out of the oven and cool on a rack.  The cookies won’t look done when you take them out but the bottom of the cookies burn easily (all that sugar!) so don’t leave them in there too long.  They won’t spread much at all, but they are done (for your reference, the cookies in the pictures were taken immediately after baking).

I tasted one.  Pretty good and still like a cookie!  I think my only disappointment was that I wanted more peanut butter flavor.  (Oh Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!  How I long for your perfect ratio of chocolate to peanut butter!)  That aside, I’m satisfied with these cookies.  I think the gluten-free folks I know will be pretty happy.

Leave a Reply

