mandarin orange dust, and a small OXO giveaway

Can I just say that I’ve been dying to do a giveaway on this blog? Pretty much since I started writing stuff here?

The awesome folks at OXO sent me two hand held mandoline slicers, one to try out and one to give to a reader. The hand held mandoline slicer is pretty minimalistic (there’s a different slicer for julienne), but I really don’t need any fancy cuts on a mandoline. I’ve only ever wanted one to slice veggies thinly, and that’s exactly what this hand held unit is for.

It’s not big, and it’s fairly flat for easy storing.  It’s got three sizes for cutting, but I’ve used the largest setting only so far. I must admit that I haven’t used the finger guard at all.  The veggies won’t stay in place.  It’s easy enough to just make sure that I don’t go crazy with my slicing.  I’ve used it for carrots and sweet potatoes (which stained my OXO terribly temporarily) for soups, but that isn’t very interesting. That’s ok though – there has been a use for the mandoline that I’ve been dying to try. Three words for you: mandarin orange dust.

I’ve been daydreaming about this since I first read about it on http://penandfork.com/tips-tutorials/mandarin-orange-dust/ via a post on thekitchn.com.

Shaving orange slices proved a little more difficult than I expected on the slicer.  It probably would have been easier with a traditional knife, but I lack knife skills and confidence.  It took a few tries, but I figured out a trick to slicing the oranges.  I think that since the mandarin orange isn’t as firm as a root veggie that you have to coax it a bit.  Don’t strike it straight down the slicer.  You want to zig-zag it back and forth as you push downward.  Once I got that figured out, slicing went much faster, easier, and neater.

After all is said and done, I’m happier to have the OXO slicer than to be without it.

It’s been warm in Greater Boston all weekend (and today has been crazy hot for mid-April) so I decided against drying my orange slices in the oven.  I borrowed my sister’s dehydrator, cranked it on the warmest setting, and left it for a few hours.

The slices got brittle (yay!) but I’m not sure if the slices were supposed to be sticky or not.  My slices were sticky which meant that my orange dust had a sticky quality to it.  There was no mention of stickiness in the original post.  Maybe it’s a dehydrator vs. oven thing.

Anyway, the slices were taken to my spice grinder with some sugar, and yay! I have a jar of orange dust!  A jar of really bright yellow-orange colored dust!  Pictures of the dust will have to come later… by the time I got around to finishing, I was out of sunlight.

For what it’s worth, I used four mandarin oranges and got about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of dust.  (I think it’s more like 1/2 cup, but I haven’t measured it.)

What will I do with this dust?  I’m already working on some ideas.  In the meantime, you can enter to win your own OXO hand held mandoline slicer.  To enter, leave me a comment – let me know what you’d do with orange dust, or what you would do with slicer… you can leave me any comment really.  BUT!  I ask for three things: 1) only comments made through the end of April will be eligible to win.   2) If you are commenting anonymously, you have to leave me your email address in your comment (don’t worry, I won’t use it for anything other than to contact you that you’ve won).  You can spell out your email addy if that makes you feel better, but you can’t win if I can’t contact you.  And, 3) US addresses only please (because that’s how my shipping label will work).

It’s not much, but I’m really happy that I can share this with you.  OXO is not paying me in any way, shape or form – they sent me the slicer for free to try out.  My opinion is my own.

25 thoughts on “mandarin orange dust, and a small OXO giveaway

  1. I’ve never seen a handheld mandoline slicer! I had one a while back, but it was clunky and cheap, and not very easy to use.

    I’m very curious to see what you do with orange dust. Obviously, I think the dust would be amazing in cookies and tea! Or in my ice cream maker. 🙂

  2. Oh I would love a mandoline! I would slice yummy veggies.

    The orange dust is cool, not sure how I would use it.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. wow, i am not sure i how i would use it. I am thinking sprinkled over chocolate before it hardens but not sure. Very inventive!

  4. My Son likes all his food sliced very thin and small. This Oxo product would make this daily task so much easier! I would use orange dust with honey as a chicken glaze.

  5. OXO Products rock! Even before my fine motor coordination went out the window there were no more secure products. I’d been disappointed with a few which sat on my desk. Decided I’d send them back just to let them know and not to expect anything/replacements. They not only replaced the products with the newest models but acknowledged problems had been noted with some which required re-engineering. I’d love a mandoline: have been given several which have been passed on as the plethora of kitchen gadgets can get overwhelming. I would use it mainly on very thin slices which I’m unable to do in a cuisinart (esp potatoes and apples which don’t fit the feed tube without cutting.) Even if you don’t win, please consider OXO/Good Grips tools: they will become some of your most used go-to gadgets no matter the size of your kitchen.

  6. Orange dust… hmm I’d probably use it in a batch of muffins, ooo that would be heaven! And I’d be cutting up all my salad veggies with that thing! So fun 🙂

  7. Would try dusting some of my orange flavored cupcakes with the dust. Could really use the slicer on vegetables!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Since I’m a vegan, I’m CONSTANTLY slicing vegetables! I NEED a mandoline in my life, and I’ll happily use these to shave my knuckles… I mean carrots into nice strips!

  9. Pingback: My favorite breakfast treat « Awesomesauce Eats

  10. Wow! Am I ever late to the game on this one – but still very glad I found your your blog anyway. I’ve been combing the internet for orange dust (which is, evidently, the name of a band – hard to find much of anything else – I’ll have to listen to them some day) and it’s incredibly hard to locate. Sorry that I didn’t get a chance at the mandoline, since I practically only use OXO products in my kitchen, but don’t have that. You can be sure I’ll add one of them to my kitchen tools. The orange dust – do you have any available for sale? That is ultimately what brought me to you in the first place. Or any help in locating some would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for any help you can offer.

  11. Yes!! It’s fabulous!! I’ve been making all sorts things with it (since I got so much – lol) It’s great in / on practically everything from breads & cakes, to marinades & grilled foods. Fish, meats, even certain vegetables & fruits.
    If what ever is being cooked or baked needs a little sweetness – a bit of
    sugar (or substitute) balances it out nicely since there is a very very slight bitterness in a few finished dishes. Definitely worth it.

Leave a Reply

