My favorite breakfast treat

Let me say this upfront, this recipe is adapted from “Sesame Street B is for Baking.” It’s a cookbook for baking with kids. Originally, I got this book so that I could bake with my niece. To be honest though, I don’t think my niece has seen this book since I first got it. (In my defense, I think my niece prefers to help in the kitchen if it’s her dad doing the baking.) Regardless, I love this book so far. I’ve made a few recipes in it, and I have every intention to try some more, but I always come back to the same breakfast recipe… “the Good for Me, Good for You Oatmeal Muffins.”

I’ll admit – I am the kind of person who wakes up hungry.  So, on weekdays, I need to make sure that breakfast is already there and waiting for me in the mornings.  I’ve modified the recipe a little, so let’s call my version “Spelt Quick bread with Raisins and Oatmeal.”

Spelt Quick bread with Raisins and Oatmeal
adapted from Sesame Street B is for Baking, by Susan McQuillan

In bowl #1, mix together:
1 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup maple syrup (I have used as little as 1/3 cup, on occasion, without much harm)
1 egg
1 cup low-fat or full-fat yogurt, plain or vanilla
1/2 cup olive oil (olive oil is listed in the original recipe, but I’ve always used the light flavored olive oil — you can also replace up to half of the oil with plain applesauce)

Let the oats soak in the wet ingredients for at least 20 minutes.

In bowl #2, mix together:
1 cup spelt flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
cinnamon to your preference (I like to use about about 1/4 tsp)

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Have a greased loaf pan ready (mine is 9×5) and a 1/2 cup of raisins.  When the oat mixture is done soaking, pour in the dry ingredients from bowl #2 into the wet ingredients in bowl #1.  Quickly mix until it just combined.  Put in the raisins, and mix everything just a few more times.

Pour the entire mixture into the loaf pan, and bake for 45-55 minutes.  My loaves tend to be be in 48-49 minutes. Your oven is going to vary.

If you don’t have spelt flour, no worries.  You can use half all-purpose flour and half wheat flour.  If you do, cut back the baking soda to 1/2 tsp.  Spelt flour is heavier and needs a little more oompf.  Even then, the center of the quick bread might sink a tiny bit.  Personally, I never keep wheat flour around.  I think it tastes like cardboard.

You don’t have to use maple syrup.  I’ve used brown sugar, cane sugar, and even agave.  Whatever floats your boat.  Don’t like raisins?  Maybe chop up some dried apricots.  This ingredient list is short enough to memorize, the measurements are simple,  and the amount of dishes to clean when you are done is fairly minimal.  You should go and make this for yourself right now!

Version 2
Spelt Quick bread with Cranberries and Orange Dust

Follow the instructions above.  In the bowl with the dry ingredients, throw in 1-2 Tbsp of orange dust.  Swap the half cup of raisins with a half cup of cranberries.  Since the orange dust has a bit of bitterness from the pith and cranberries are tart, I would recommend using the full amount of maple syrup.

I made this Monday night with 1T of orange dust.  The loaf came out lovely, but the orange flavor was subtle.  I want to punch it up to 2T next time.  At this rate, I will need to whip out my OXO mandoline and make a second batch of orange dust.  Don’t have a mandoline?  I might have a solution.  If you missed it, I’m giving one away.  (^_^)
Click here to enter the giveaway – https://awesomesauceeats.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/mandarin-orange-dust-and-a-small-oxo-giveaway/

Orange dust!  The picture looks blurry because the jar came out of the fridge and condensation took over.  But isn’t that color gorgeous?  It looks even better in person.

Cranberry orange spelt bread!  (I took pictures of the raisin version too, but they weren’t very good.)

One thought on “My favorite breakfast treat

Leave a Reply

