veggie CSA, no. 1, 2012

This year, my sister and I are trying a full-sized share with Brookfield Farm. My sister’s roommate is also splitting the share with us.

Our first pick up was tonight. According to Brookfield Farm, what we got was:

Lettuce: Our spring harvest of head lettuce has begun. We aim for fresh lettuce from now until November.

Braising Mix: A mix of delicious greens which are perfect for quick cooking. This mix may include the following: red kale, mizuna (mild spiky leaf), and red mustard (purple and spicy).

Komatsuna: Every week we plan on having a big cooking green available for your share. This week, we’ll start out with this large-leaf bok-choy type which is great for stir-frys.

Arugula: We keep this peppery green separate so that you can decide what to do with it! It’s great either raw (chopped into the salad) or cooked (loses some of it’s tang). The first crop is beautiful with many more (9) to come!

“French Breakfast” Radish: Red radishes with delicate white tips. Try them for breakfast (like the French), cut up in a salad, or get creative.

Spinach: What? Really? Spinach? Yes!! This crop always has a tough time at our farm, but this year we have one great bed which should make for nice salads this week! Fresh cut and delicious!

I took the spinach, one head of green lettuce, and 1/3 of the mix.  My sister took the komatsuna, 1/3 of the mix, and I think the arugula.  M* took the radishes, 1/3 of the mix, and I think the red lettuce.

I think I’ll probably stir-fry the mixed greens.  Half of my spinach has already been wilted and then cooked with eggs and scallions.  My green lettuce might get stir-fried as well.  I haven’t decided yet.

10 thoughts on “veggie CSA, no. 1, 2012

  1. We just got our first CSA share yesterday…pretty good stuff. A head of Bibb and a head of Romaine (a really big, weird, tough head of Romaine…but BVH assures me it is Romaine), mustard greens, strawberries, honey, a dozen eggs, radishes, and garlic scapes. I’m really looking forward to the mustard greens-I’ve never had them before, and they are spicy.

    • Honey? And strawberries? I’m jealous, Professor!

      I seriously miss having eggs in my csa. But my sister thinks that we’ll go back to Stone Farm for a winter csa and get eggs again.

      I think I’ve only had mustard greens a couple of times…

      • I think they’re place holders until they really get going-probably not even from our farmer but “traded” for. I know our old CSA did that with maple syrup.

        I’m not sure I’ve ever had ’em, but the bites I took yesterday point to it being something I’m looking forward to!

  2. Lettuce is the hardest thing for me to use up. We get a lot of it and salads get boring. Maybe I should stir fry it too like you’ve suggested.

    • I love stir-fried lettuce. Growing up, my mom always made it as a “we need some kind of veggies on the table” dish. My siblings hated it – I think they always associated lettuce with cold salads. But lettuce stays very sweet post cooking so I love it. I also suggest braising it with fish. ^_^

Leave a Reply

