chickpeas and mixed greens

So…

I decided to go “Super Natural Every Day” on the braising mix greens I got from my CSA.  Heidi Swanson’s second book was one of those books that I love looking at, tell myself to cook from it, and then never get around to cooking from it.  Well, it was time to change my bad habits!

Adapting one of her recipes to fit what I had on hand, here’s what happened:

I soaked 1/2 cup of chickpeas overnight (probably about 16 hours?) and then simmered them in fresh water for about 35 minutes.  (Although the soaking liquid has a lot of flavor, that’s the same liquid that’s going to make you fart.  I’m not going to lie to you.)  I usually add a large pinch of salt halfway through the cooking time.

In a different pan, I heated some olive oil (3T) and softened some finely chopped onions over medium heat (I used one small onion).  I added some garlic powder, a pinch of salt, and maybe 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes.  When the onion looked soft enough, I added in my mixed greens.  Once the greens had wilted, I mixed in the chickpeas.  When everything was incorporated, I threw in some lime zest (I’m zany that way), and killed the heat.

Overall?  This is simple and tasty.  It’s a good way to use up some CSA greens.  I really liked the lime zest to be honest.  It was supposed to be lemon zest but my lemon zest was in the freezer and I had limes that wanted some attention.  I think, next time, I’ll try it with some preserved Meyer lemons (which I almost used this time around, but then the limes were staring at me down).

5 thoughts on “chickpeas and mixed greens

Leave a Reply

