The word on microgreens

This makes me happy!

Researchers are starting to look into the nutritional value of mircogreens. Preliminary results are showing that microgreens are nutrient rich as people have been claiming.  Concentration of nutrients change depending on plant (no surprise there) but it’s nice to see that researchers are coming up with some initial numbers.  And it’s nice to see, as far as I can tell, that this is a real study.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2012/08/29/160274163/introducing-microgreens-younger-and-maybe-more-nutritious-vegetables

http://pubs.acs.org/stoken/presspac/presspac/full/10.1021/jf300459b

I know what I’m doing as the weather gets colder, I’m growing microgreens indoors again.  (^_^)

(I admit that I got lax about growning microgreens after last summer.  After reading the article, I feel like I should grow green daikon radish.  It’s not currently part of my microgreen seed collection.)

Leave a Reply

