The Fresh Diet, day 4

[Note – my reviews were written at the time of consumption, and then saved into one post throughout the day. I am not getting paid in any way for my review. I paid for the product out of my own pocket to satisfy my curiosity.]

Breakfast was oatmeal with wheatberries, raisins, and oatmeal.  I would have given this +1 but honestly it wasn’t as delicious to me as the oatmeal with coconut and pineapples that I had on day 1.  It was less gluey but I felt like the flavor was lacking a little.  But, perhaps, it is more the fact that I thought I tasted ginger powder in it, and I think cinnamon is more the way to go with breakfast.  Since I’ve decided that I’ll never make this on my own, I’ll give it zero points.

On the brighter side, I was fairly content with my lunch fare: a cheese steak wrap with mushroom.  +1 easily.  It is also a very boring picture.  haha.

My snack was a grilled portabella with yellow tomato, basil,fresh mozzarella, and balsamic vinaigrette.  It’s pretty hard to mess up, to be honest.  Another +1.

Dinner was cod with port tarragon dijon sauce, wild rice and cranberry pilaf, and sauteed kale.  Zero points here, not going to lie.  The cod was overcooked and the sauce couldn’t help it because  I didn’t care for the sauce either.  The cod wasn’t tough and dry like the swordfish from the other day had been.  It was kind of… mealy instead?  Dinner came really close to getting a -1 point but the side dishes just barely made up for it.  The kale was cooked well, but I realized that I don’t care for wild rice.  It’s no fault of the rice, and I liked that it had been cooked with cranberries.  So, a big fat zero it is.

To finish day 4, I had a raspberry muffin.  It was nearly on par with the muffin I had earlier in the week, which is to say that it gets a zero.  I suspect it’s wheat flour that’s making the muffin texture into something I don’t like.  I will say that the raspberry muffin was mildly better than the mandarin orange muffin.  I’m sure someone out there thinks that the raspberry muffin should get a +1 point, but that someone isn’t me.

Points for today:  2 out of 5
Total points so far:  12 out of 20

My weekend holds are now in effect.  No meals until next week.  I’m going to go and look up what I signed up for… because I have learned that I don’t care for FD’s fish or for their muffins.  I feel a little bad that FD’s current grade is 60%.  But part of the game is to recognize what you like and don’t like, what their strengths and weaknesses are.  Right?

Leave a Reply

