The Fresh Diet, day 5

Breakfast – plum stuffed honey wheat french toast with peaches and strawberry ricotta. +1 point. I wanted to give this zero points but I think it was mostly because I don’t think french toast should try to be healthy. In my world, french toast should be made with delicious challah bread. I also wanted more maple syrup. I didn’t get any on the side this time. My french toast was already “dressed”. Also, I seem to be weirded out by the idea of having ricotta on anything that isn’t lasagna. All of my issues though had nothing to do with the dish itself, so I refrained from penalizing it.

My snack was black bean and avocado wheat crostini. Basically it was guacamole without cilantro (yay!) with some black beans stirred into it, and two small slices of bread on the side. +1 point because I actually enjoyed it and thought it went nicely with my lunch.

Lunch was a fresh salad with grilled bell pepper slices, grape tomatoes, wax beans, romaine lettuce, mozzarella balls and a balsamic dressing. Normally, I hate having a salad as a meal because it seldom makes me full. However, I happily munched away on the salad and it was either because my appetite has been slightly off all day or because the avocado and black beans helped to round out the meal. Perhaps it was both.  +1 point.

Dinner was a grilled chicken breast with red mole sauce but I didn’t get a chance to eat it.  I was at my niece’s house where my mother cooked up some scallops for us for dinner.  I couldn’t say no!  (^_~)

When I got home, my FD dessert was two chocolate covered strawberries.  I didn’t take photos of it, but I think everyone knows what a chocolate covered strawberry looks like.   I should have eaten it earlier in the day though.  Chocolate covered strawberries don’t stand well against time.  They start to sweat, for lack of a better description.  Even though they weren’t as pretty by the end of the day, they were still very yummy.  There was also a small container of ricotta cheese again, but I didn’t eat most of it.  I just don’t see plain ricotta as being a dessert item… but whatever.  +1 point overall.

Total points for the day:  4 out of 4
Points to date: 16 out of 24

I guess my dinner reviews will be a day off now.  I would also like to point out that I’m glad I checked what was on the menu for tomorrow ahead of time.  I changed it.  I had originally selected an apple pistachio muffin as my snack and orange roughy for lunch.  Considering my previous posts, it’s very likely that I would given both dishes zero points or even worse a -1 point.  That would not have been fun.

[Note – my reviews were written at the time of consumption, and then saved into one post throughout the day. I am not getting paid in any way for my review. I paid for the product out of my own pocket to satisfy my curiosity.]

2 thoughts on “The Fresh Diet, day 5

    • I have mixed feelings. Overall, I think it’s a very nice service but I am sure that FD is better appreciated by their target audience.

Leave a Reply

