Warming grapefruit tea, for people who hate grapefruit

I’m coming down with a cold. meh.

So, all I want right now is is something that is warm, soothes my throat, and is full of things that’s supposed to be good for you. I don’t know why, but I rarely crave orange juice when I’m sick. Apple cider is nice but sometimes it tastes too sweet to me. Grapefruit is on sale at my local markets, so that’s what I brought home.

DSC00749

The problem? I don’t like grapefruit. I very nearly hate it. So why did I come home with grapefruits? To make grapefruit tea! Ok, I guess this is more like a spiced grapefruit cider than tea but the original recipe calls it tea so I’m leaving it like that. The original recipe called for 1 stick cinnamon and 1/2tsp allspice berries for about 2 cups grapefruit juice to be heated on the stove. However, I have a jar of chai masala that I made recently, so I went with that instead. Plus, the black pepper in the chai mix feels nice on my sore throat.

Warming grapefruit tea, for people who hate grapefruit:
2c grapefruit juice, freshly squeezed or from a bottle
1/4tsp chai masala spice mix
very small amount of butter
1 stick of cinnamon
sweetener of choice, to taste
splash of apple cider (optional)

The flavor compounds in spices become stronger when toasted in a type of fat. So, melt just enough butter in a small saucepan to toast the spices. When the spices have darkened and become fragrant, add the grapefruit juice, the cinnamon stick, and your sweetener. Cover, let it come to a boil, turn off the heat, and let sit for about 5-10 minutes. When I’m ready to serve it (and because I have it on hand right now), I like adding a splash of apple cider to help temper the grapefruit flavor and to help cool off the tea some so that I don’t burn my mouth.

If you don’t have chai masala, use 1/2 tsp allspice berries, or maybe 1/4tsp any combination of black pepper, ground cardamom, and ground ginger.

If you want to make your own chai masala, here’s the recipe I used:
http://thehathicooks.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-to-make-best-chai-ever.html?m=1

Does this recipe cure colds?  I don’t know.  But cinnamon, ginger, and cardamom are said to be good for you when you have a cold, and the black pepper burns away the soreness in my throat right now.  I’ve been drinking this stuff all weekend.  Will it make you like grapefruit?  Not really, but the spices makes it easier for me to get past the grapefruit flavor.  The keyword here is “easier” – grapefruit is such a strong flavor that not even the chai will overcome it.  If you already like grapefruit, then it’s a win-win situation for you.  (^_^)

Leave a Reply

