The Start of 2013, in pictures

I went to the Red House again for New Year’s Eve.  The menu was almost the same, but a few things were different.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I had the latkes, the paradelle (again), the stuffed scallops, and the bread pudding.  The latkes were delicious even without the sauce, so I’ll have to say that I liked it better than NYE 2011’s preparation.  The paradelle was still delicious, but perhaps spicier than last time.  The stuffed scallops were very good.  It looked like a small portion compared to the other entree options, but I had suspicions that it would be a smaller plate of food and strategically ordered it so that I would have more room in my belly for the bread pudding.  (haha, and it was the right move in my opinion.)  The scallops were served on shells with some asparagus spears.  There was a lot more seafood in the stuffing than I expected, but the dish wasn’t overly fishy or anything.  The bread pudding was quite yummy and filling, but I don’t remember having chocolate chips in it last time.

Image

Image

Image

Anyway, that was NYE.  Sorry for the crappy pictures.  The restaurant lighting was quite dim and I didn’t want to use my flash.

This past week, I’ve been experimenting with random stuff.  So far, nothing grand to report so just pictures for now.

First up!  Salted raw butternut squash and marinated shiitake mushrooms – because I’m always trying to make up for my less-than-ideal-intake-of-veggies.

Image

Image

The squash was a bit bland, even with the mushrooms.  And I discovered that I didn’t really like the flavor of lemon in the marinade I used for the mushrooms.  So, when I plated it, I spooned on some leftover sauce from a kimchi jar.

Image

That was lunch… For dinner, I steamed the leftovers.  Either version is fine but the hot version was a little more satisfying for a winter day.  (No picture of the cooked version which is, quite frankly, not as pretty looking.)

Again, in the spirit of eating healthier, I decided to experiment with sauerkraut.  Here’s my first batch.  I don’t know how it will taste though, as it needs at least five more days of fermentation.  (Next to it is a jar of fruit kvass, but it’s not bubbling at all.  I may have to re-do it.)

Image

Not a bad way to start 2013, right?  (^_^)

I’ve got some cooking posts coming up this week so long as I don’t get lazy.  I’m going to test drive a cooking box delivery service from The Blue Apron (which I paid for out of my own pocket).  So, keep an eye out!

Leave a Reply

