Blue Apron, part 1 of 3

First impressions?  I like my Blue Apron box.  On the other hand, I’m really disliking FedEx right now.  Not only did FedEx not delivery my box on Wednesday, but they delivered my box on Thursday just before they stopped for the day.  I got my box a little after 7pm… after I had already assembled something resembling dinner.  (>_<)

Anyway!  On to the pictures!  (Crappy pictures because it was almost 8pm by the time I opened my  box.  I hate taking photos without natural light.)

Image

My yuzu got a little squashed.  Poor yuzu…

Image

I just like how the bag of spices/sauces/etc. is called “knick kacks.”  My siblings tend to call them “accessories.”

Image

Image

Everything is labeled.  Also, it never occurred to me that Israeli couscous looks different from couscous.  (See the second picture with the squashed yuzu for the regular couscous.)

Image

Here’s a picture of my first Blue Apron dish – Cod with Israeli couscous, roasted carrots and bok choy, and yuzu butter sauce.  Even though I was really flustered when I opened my box and needed a few minutes to get into gear, cooking the cod recipe only took me about 30 minutes to assemble as the website promises.  Nice.  I did make minor changes though.  Since I like my carrots a little softer and I know I tend to cut them big, they went into the oven for 5 minutes at 475F.  After that, I added the bok choy to the sheet pan.  I left my oven at 475F for about 10 more minutes.  The original recipe suggests roasting the carrots and the choy at 500F for 10-12 minutes,  but I suspect that my oven runs a little hot and 500F is a little overkill.   I made no other changes to the recipe.

I bet you notice that my plated picture has everything in a tupperware.  The sad part about cooking at night after you’ve eaten – everything you cook automatically becomes leftovers.  So, I’m eating it today for lunch.  I’m so hungry that I’m taking tasting bites of it now, at 10:30am.  It’s a little early for fish but better this than snacking on something from the vending machine.  Overall, I like it!  The veggies came out perfectly, and the Israeli couscous is nicely chewy.  The cod is good, nothing super special, but it works nicely with the rest of the dish.

Tonight I attempt the “Korean Chicken Lettuce Wraps with Pickled Daikon Radish” recipe.

http://www.blueapron.com/
http://www.blueapron.com/pages/cookbook (where you can find an archive of their recipe cards, including the meals I’m making this week)

 

[Note –  I am not getting paid in any way for my review. I paid for the product out of my own pocket to satisfy my curiosity.]

One thought on “Blue Apron, part 1 of 3

  1. Pingback: Blue Apron giveway (or at least, it’s sort of a giveaway) | Awesomesauce Eats

Leave a Reply

