Blue Apron, part 2 of 3

I forgot to add this photo into the previous post.  This is how I’ll determine two servings of cod fillets in the future: the overall area should be about the size of my hand.  (^_^)

DSC00789
Moving on!  The recipe I decided to make on Friday night was Korean Chicken Lettuce Wraps with Pickled Daikon Radish.  Not pictured were two nice free range chicken cutlets supplied by Pat LaFrieda Meat Purveyors.  This recipe, like the last one, took me about 35 minutes to make.  It probably could have taken me less time, but I had no need to rush.

DSC00792
The minor changes I made were to 1) salt the chicken beforehand, 2) use shio koji instead of salt for the daikon radish, and 3) thinly slice the daikon with a mandoline.  The original recipes tells you to cut the daikon into chunks, but pickled daikon in Korean restaurants is usually cut in julienne strips (I’m not referring to radish kimchi which is cut into chunks).  So, chunks didn’t feel right to me.  Plus, I just couldn’t imagine that the daikon would get enough flavor in half an hour from its marinade.

What else?  Ah, the unusual ingredient in this recipe was dried garlic chutney.  It really had me confused at first.  There’s no such thing as dried garlic chutney in Korean cooking.  Sure, there’s a lot of garlic and red pepper flakes but no spice mix referred to as dried garlic chutney.  After some researching and an quick confirmation from Blue Apron, dry garlic chutney is spice mix found in Indian cooking.  It’s spicy enough and familiar enough, I think, for Korean approval but the flavor is still ever-so-slightly foreign.  So, this dish is more Asian fusion and not traditional Korean.

DSC00796
Reactions?  I really liked this one, especially the glass noodles.  The noodles reminded me of a Chinese vermicelli dish my mom makes.  I’m not totally sure what kind of glass noodles they were though.  They’re too thin to be chapchae noodles.  It’s probably just a Korean version of the vermicelli I’m familiar with, but I’ll have to start looking for them.  It’s hard for me to find Chinese vermicelli that I like.  The past few years, I’ve been buying a Taiwanese brand, but it’s getting harder and harder to find it.  I can only find mainland Chinese brands.  I like the Taiwanese brand better because it’s generally softer and chewier. I wonder what it is that creates the texture difference.  Technically, they are supposed to be the same product.

The radish was good too.  Not as sour as I normally expect, but it was a nice foil to the spiciness of the chicken.  And yes, the chicken was fairly spicy hot even though I did not use the full amount of chutney provided.

I must admit – I’m a little sad that I’ve only got one meal left to cook.

http://www.blueapron.com/
http://www.blueapron.com/recipes/korean-chicken-lettuce-wraps-with-pickled-daikon-radish
http://www.lafrieda.com/Default.asp

Leave a Reply

