Random food pictures

Hopefully, I’ll have some cookie pictures soon, but for now, here’s something to tide you over.

I finally had a chacarero sandwich from Chararero.  The store website explains the chacarero sandwich is a traditional Chilean item made with meat, steamed green beans, cheese, tomatoes, avocados, and hot sauce.

DSC00894-1

I had the original combo which has a slice of grilled beef and grilled chicken.  Now the slightly confusing part, the “BBQ” version of the sandwich (as opposed to the “original”) has nothing to do with BBQ.  It means that the meat is marinated.  D’oh!  A friend who was with me got the BBQ and it was more flavored and more tender.  Both are good, but I like the BBQ better.  Also, the hot sauce is a mild-medium level hot.  For me anyway.  The same friend who got the BBQ got hers sans hot sauce.  She tried a bite of mine and declared it was too spicy, and my spicy tolerance isn’t that high!

In sum, it’s a great sandwich.  It’s a lot of food for the price (I suggesting saving half for leftovers); it’s fresh; it’s tasty.

At home, I’ve been experimenting.  I tried the one pot pasta from Martha Stewart Living.  It ought to be spaghetti or something similar, but I tried it with rotini.  At the end, it was good, but it could have been better.  I will try again but with less pasta, and maybe more aromatics?

DSC00888-1

DSC00892-1

I’ve also been experimenting with zucchini noodles.  I’m having too much fun with my new spiralizer.  I think I finally found a sauce that I like serving with, but that sauce is not the one in the photo.  I’ve made three raw sauces now, and will probably try out a few more.

DSC00899-1

Reference links:

http://www.chacarero.com/

http://www.marthastewart.com/978784/one-pan-pasta

Leave a Reply

