Staycation, day 1 (sweetgreen)

Vacation… What a wonderful word!

My sister and I are both taking time off this week.  And we’re both staying put, so we’ve decided to go out into the city everyday for lunch, and enjoy a food-oriented staycation.

DSC00999-1

Today, we went to Sweetgreen on Boylston Street.  Even though it was my suggestion, I was very unsure if I was going to like this place.  Sweetgreen, which has other locations in DC, Philadelphia, and NYC, is a salad bar that sources local and organic ingredients.  I love the “local” and “organic” facets, but I freely admit that I’m not a huge salad person.

First impression?  Don’t go between 12p-1p on a work day!  (^_^)

We got there around 12:15p and the line was reaching outside the door.  Luckily, most people were taking their salads back to their offices, and the line moved pretty quickly.  Still, there were probably at least 20 people in front of us.  I went to grab us a table while my sister ordered.  It probably wasn’t a necessary step as even the dine-in customers moved in and out pretty quickly.

Although I don’t have a photo of it, there’s a chalkboard on the far end of the restaurant that lists where some of their items are sourced from.  It’s kind of cool.

DSC01000-1    You can make your salad to your taste, or you can order from their signature items.  All of the dressings are gluten-free and vegan-friendly items are marked.

DSC01001-1

I ordered a signature salad: the Earth Bowl.  It’s 734 calories of warm quinoa and farro with roast chicken cubes, white cheddar, grape tomatoes, raw corn, spicy/roasted broccoli, and a pesto vinaigrette.  (The calories are listed on the signature items.)    I thought about ordering the Chic-P or the Santorini, but I swear that there was a taste of fall in the air today convincing me to buy a warm salad.

DSC00995-1

I really liked it.  It was filling, tasty, and not drowning in vinaigrette.  I think I should make this at home, but maybe cutting back on the cheese a little and increasing the arugula and tomatoes.  (I love raw tomatoes in season.)

More importantly, it was not boring!

My sister decided to customize her salad.  She got shredded kale, roasted chicken, red onion, spicy broccoli, carrots, toasted almonds, and agave dijon vinaigrette.

DSC00997-1

I took a bite.  It was good and my sister liked it.  However, I think if I were to order a custom bowl that I would pick different ingredients.  It seemed like a salad you would make at home even without ever going to Sweetgreen.  I’d be more tempted to create a salad with ingredients I don’t normally have sitting around my kitchen, like the parmesan crisp.  (That reminds me – I didn’t think the broccoli was spicy at all.  It tasted like plain roasted broccoli to me.)

We also bought the two available flavors of the housemade lemonade to try: cucumber ginger lemonade and blueberry basil lemonade.  (See the very top photo in this post.)  My sister preferred the blueberry and I preferred the cucumber.  The cucumber one tastes like something out of a juice cleanse which is why my sister preferred the blueberry.  Having said that, I found the blueberry to be flat in blueberry flavor (and I love blueberries!) so I was happy to let her drink it all.

Overall, we were both very happy with Sweetgreen, and have made a pact to come back as the seasons change.  We want to see how the menu evolves to keep up with the availability of ingredients.

Reference Links:

http://sweetgreen.com/menu/?region=boston

3 thoughts on “Staycation, day 1 (sweetgreen)

  1. Looks delicious! And I’m not really a salad person either. 🙂

    Also, LOVE the sound of a staycation. There are a bunch of places I’ve been wanting to try for lunch near Nagoya Station and in Sakae. Will have to have one in November after I’ve settled gotten back from my travels these next few months. Plus the weather should be nice.

    • I want to go have lunch with you~~~

      Hopefully, visiting you will be soon-ish rather than later-ish. I’m thinking about visiting my cousin in HK within the year and, at that point, I might as well swing by Nagoya. You’ll have to take me to your favorite spots. I’ll also have to see if I can time this with a live BT show. 😄

Leave a Reply

