The newest gadget in my kitchen

Whoo-hoo!  My semester at the extension school is over.  I’m free to do other things until September rolls around.

So, how do I celebrate?  By getting an Ikea Gnistra knife sharpener.  It’s a manual sharpener with three different grits of stones that you run your knife through.  You pop the knife guide open, fill it with some water, pop the guide back down, and get to work.  It might be my new favorite kitchen gadget.  It certainly seems less barbaric than sharpening my knife on the underside of a ceramic mug… which I might have done many times in the past.  (Hey, you gotta do what you gotta do, plus it actually works in a pinch.)

gnistra

(Sorry the photo is a little blurry.  I was using my phone and didn’t notice that the camera had focused on my fridge in the background, instead of focusing on the sharpener.)

My chef’s knife has seen some a little wear and tear lately, so here’s hoping that it gets some regular TLC going forward.

I do have an electric sharpener, a hand-me-down from a cousin who moved out of the country, but I have no place to put it.  And it needs to be plugged in.  I’m too lazy for that.  Maybe I can hand it down to one of my siblings?

Anyway, I plan to post regularly over the summer.  Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “The newest gadget in my kitchen

  1. Do you still have the electric? I may have space on my pantry shelf, haha.
    Want to trade for a non-electric chopper with different blades? I bought it for M.Bunny but only used it a few times.

Leave a Reply

