How did I not know of this until now?

My state as a grain CSA?

http://www.localgrain.org/about/

Crop examples are:

  • “Red Lammas” hard red winter wheat (heirloom)
  • “Redeemer” winter wheat
  • Oats
  • Spelt
  • Rye
  • Emmer (Known as Farro in Italy)
  • Barley
  • “Nothstine Dent” Corn
  • “Plymouth Flint” Corn
  • Black Turtle Beans
  • Pinto Beans
  • Winter Rye
  • “Tom Thumb”Popcorn
  • Triticale

WHAT?  I read thekitchn all the time and only noticed this eight months later?  Could I do this?  I’d need a way to get to Natick, seeing as I don’t have a car of my own right now.  Granted, pick up is once a year (or so it seems), but this sounds so amazing.  Spelt?  Emmer?  I want this!

Other reference link:

http://www.thekitchn.com/what-you-should-know-if-youre-thinking-of-getting-a-grain-share-kitchen-tour-205428

5 thoughts on “How did I not know of this until now?

  1. My buddy Mel has been a subscriber since Christmas and has been digging it – making lots of fresh bread. Need to put you two in the same room together so you can discuss.

    • I must admit that my bread baking lacked this winter. It’s a reflection of my breakfasts… which have become mostly vegan breakfast cookies. I’m so addicted. lol!

    • also, I am not opposed to meeting your friend Mel. We should do a dinner night or something. I haven’t seen you in ages. eek!

Leave a Reply

