Breakfast cookies own my soul

Sorry this recipe is getting written later than anticipated.  I kept tweaking the instructions, and then I wanted to make sure I had pictures.  (True story, I’ve been posting them on my personal Instagram and then copying them over because I’m too lazy to edit on my computer.)

Breakfast cookies are a thing that I have been obsessed with for the last two months.  You might be thinking that I’m exaggerating but I’m not.  I go to bed happy in the knowledge that there will be cookies for breakfast, and I wake up excited for cookies for breakfast.

Before the cookies came into my life, I was going thorough a phase where I was having cottage cheese with jam on toast.  It’s not a bad breakfast.  But one day, I did a breakdown on the nutritional values, and I was disappointed at how nutritionally deficient my breakfast was.

In my search for a better breakfast, I came across a recipe for vegan breakfast cookies on Once a Month Meals website.  Ever since, they have become a staple recipe.

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 12.40.48 PM

Don’t you want these for breakfast? I bet you do.

Breakfast Cookies

Part 1
1 cup dried red lentils
water (for soaking and then 2 cups for cooking)

Soak lentils in water overnight, enough water to cover the lentils by at least 1/2″.  Do you need to soak overnight?  No.  Do you need to soak at all?  No.  However, I have found soaking has produced a much more predictable end product.  So I’m a big fan of it.

Drain the lentils, discarding the soaking water.  Add 2 cups of water.  Bring to a boil, and then reduce the heat so that it’s just boiling gently.  Let the lentils cook for 10-12 minutes, uncovered, stirring occasionally.  (If you did not soak, the lentils take approximately 20 minutes to cook.)  Drain the cooked lentils, tossing the cooking liquid (or re-using them for something else) and puree them in a food processor.  Set aside.

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 12.40.16 PM

cooking red lentils

Part 2
pureed lentils from Part 1
1 cup almond butter (other butters ok, see note below)
1/3 cup sugar (brown sugar or cane evaporated sugars are what I usually use)
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1-2 Tbsp coconut flour (optional)
approx. 1/2 cup of mixed dried fruit, nuts, seeds

Costco now carries its own brand of almond butter.  It is a sign to bake more breakfast cookies.

Costco now carries its own brand of almond butter. It is a sign to bake more breakfast cookies.

Pre-heat your oven to 350F.

Combine the pureed lentils, sugar, and almond butter.  Mix in the vanilla extract.  Sometimes, your puree will seem watery.  Sometimes, your almond butter will seem stiffer or more fluid depending on the brand.  If you suspect that your cookie dough is too wet, feel free to add a tablespoon of coconut flour.  Add another tablespoon of coconut flour if you really need it.  Don’t have coconut flour?  Don’t worry about it.  It just helps with the texture a bit.

Mix in the baking powder.  I like to do this toward the end.  Double acting baking powder is activated with heat.   There might be leftover heat from the lentils so I’m just trying to minimize it.

Mix in dried fruit, nuts, and seeds as you desire.  My favorite is just plain golden raisins, but I have also made these with a mix of dried blueberries and sunflower seeds.  I’ve also done dried blueberries and pepitas.  I also tend to eye this part of the recipe.  I like to have enough “fixings” so that each cookies ends up with a nice amount.

I scoop out the cookie dough with a 1 1/2 Tbsp disher, bake for 18-19 minutes in a 350F oven.  I can usually make about 30 cookies and fit them onto two half sheet pans lined with parchment paper.  They don’t spread too much.

waiting to be baked

waiting to be baked

I like to let them cool, and then store is a large tub in the fridge.  In the morning, I’lll grab some, heat it up in the microwave for a bit, and then scarf them down to my heart’s content.  You can also freeze them if you don’t think you’ll go through them very fast.  A serving size to me is four cookies.

Note – I have tried this recipe with peanut butter and sunflower seed butter.  Peanut butter works fine, but I prefer the flavor of almond butter in this recipe.  The sunflower seed butter works but is my least favorite.  I find it to be gritty and the flavor of the seed butter to be dominant.  (Peanut and almond flavors balance with the lentils pretty well.)  If you insist on using sunflower seed butter, I would probably recommend adding some almond extract, probably about 1/4 tsp.  If you don’t have almond extract, try increasing the vanilla extract amount.

Also, feel free to add other flavors like ground cinnamon or whatever you like.  I made a version with a pinch of cinnamon last week and it was pretty delicious.

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 12.41.12 PM

dried blueberries, cinnamon, and pepitas variation

Reference Link:

https://onceamonthmeals.com/recipes/vegan-raisin-breakfast-cookies/

Leave a Reply

