The Broad Fork by Hugh Acheson (cookbook review)

A new cookbook graces my bookshelves… ok, dining room table because my bookshelves are full.  Yes, yes, I have a cookbook problem.  This is nothing new.  (^_^)

9780385345026

What I like about this cookbook is that it focuses on fruits and vegetables… but don’t assume that this is a book for vegetarians or vegans.  It’s not, although there are plenty of recipes that don’t feature meat.  The book is divided by seasons, and then the vegetables/fruits are listed alphabetically within their growing season.

For example, you can find carrots listed in the spring section.  And then the available recipes for carrots are: big baby carrot puree, fermented carrots with galangal and lime, and sauteed carrots with pine nuts, malt vinegar, and sorghum.

(I really want to try the fermented carrots – I think I’ve been on a bit of a fermentation kick lately.  Now I have too much kimchi in my fridge.  Yes, too much kimchi is a possible problem to have.)

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 5.33.39 PM

The pictures are gorgeous and inspiring, but I think it’s the overall simplicity of the recipes that have really peaked my interests.  A lot of the recipes have 8 or fewer total ingredients.  Lately, I’ve been more interested in recipes that are approachable and not challenging.
Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 5.34.07 PMI’m having trouble deciding what I want to try making first.  It’s August which means summer in New England, so I should try to make something with peaches, tomatoes, or corn.  But for some reason, the spring chapter appeals to me more.

Screen Shot 2015-08-09 at 5.03.45 PM
I wish some of the vegetables had more recipes (like cabbage).  Meanwhile I wish some vegetables like ramps weren’t in it.  I have nothing against ramps, to be honest, but they’re not something I can get with little effort.  (Is it just me or do you think that ramps and garlic scapes aren’t that exciting?  Geez, this does make it sounds like I have something against them, doesn’t it?)

Overall impression, I like this book a lot… A lot, a lot… but I just don’t know how to put this into action.

Anybody else have it?  Any particular recipe recommendations?

Disclaimer – I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.  I’m not getting paid for this post.

Reference Links

http://www.randomhouse.com/book/224094/the-broad-fork-by-hugh-acheson-photographs-by-rinne-allen

http://www.randomhouse.com/author/122127/hugh-acheson-photographs-by-rinne-allen

Leave a Reply

