NYE dinner, the Puritan + Co. edition

(The menu below was altered from the published menu to reflect what was available at the time of dining.  I forgot to take a photo of the actual menu, so I bet this isn’t 100% accurate since I’m doing it from memory.)

NEW YEAR’S EVE 2015

First

Kampachi Crudo
fennel, orange, olive, fried quinoa

Duck Confit and Sausage
sweet potato, lentils, pistachio

Grilled Mushroom Salad
potato, marjoram, egg yolk caramel

Seared Foie Gras Skillet ($12 supplement)
black pepper gougeres, gooseberries, whipped honey

Second

Cauliflower and Black Truffle Soup
thyme oil, parmesan, salsify

Salt-Roasted Beets
aged goat cheese, hazelnut, rye cracker

Baby Greens and Chicories
avocado, pinenut, grapefruit

Lobster Bisque ($10 supplement)
crab cake, coconut, basil

Main

Potato and Herb Gnocchi
brown butter, chestnut, parmesan

Seared Scallops
parsnip, brussels, pomegranate

Roasted Duck Breast
fennel, spiced carrots, dried fruit jus

40-day Dry Aged Bone-in Sirloin Steak ($15 supplement)
potato mille fuielle, black trumpets, bordelaise

Dessert

beeramisu

Indian Pudding
port, cornmeal, fig

Chocolate Mousse Trifle
hazelnut, brown butter cream, praline

hot apple cider
armagnac, fig, warm spices

might i?
tiki-style rum cocktail

czech & balance 
slivovitz, lillet blanc, burnt orange

church
gin, aperol, lemon

paper plane
bourbon, nonino amaro, lemon

pisticci cocktail
lucano amaro, privateer rum, sweet vermouth

thaw in the straw
bourbon, honey, lemon, ginger beer

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 10.51.35 AM

The crudo.  The person who ate this liked the fried quinoa best.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 10.51.21 AM

The grilled mushroom salad.  I liked it a lot.  There was a tartness in the dressing which was balanced out by the potato puree.  I’ve never had fresh marjoram before.  It was a nice floral note, but easily overwhelming if you ate too much in one bite.

Not pictured, although I got to sneak a taste of, was the duck and sausage.  It was a pretty substantial dish for a first course.  I heard a couple of comments that the duck was a bit salty, but the sausage and lentils were really delicious.  I was almost sorry I didn’t order it for myself.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 10.51.11 AM

The mixed green salad.  The pine nuts must have been pulverized into the dressing.  I could definitely taste it, but I didn’t see any whole nuts.  The avocado puree was hiding under everything.  I’m not a huge grapefruit fan, but the avocado and pine nuts made it better.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 10.50.58 AM

I never cook scallops at home so I couldn’t resist ordering it as my third course.  I liked the flavor combination.

I think ordering two salad courses and then having seafood was a good idea.  The portions at Puritan + Co. were decently sized so I felt well fed, but not disgustingly full.  A few people at my table were definitely full halfway through the third course.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 10.50.38 AM

One person at my table opted to pay extra for the steak dish.  And he was immensely happy with it.  His wife teased him mercilessly for the trance-like happiness on his face.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 10.50.24 AM

Gnocchi… which I feel is fairly self-explanatory.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 10.50.13 AM

Chocolate mousse trifle, and it was really delicious.  I almost got the Indian pudding and then had a change of heart when the waitress was taking our order.  The Indian pudding was good too, but I have no regrets because chocolate will probably always be my one true love.

(No one at our table ordered the beeramisu.)

A few of the cocktails were consumed and given a thumbs up.  I don’t remember what everyone had, but I think the czech & balance was the favorite of the night.  (It was quite boozy, not really my thing.)

Leave a Reply

