An evening in photos, The Amsterdam, Rhinebeck, NY

I visit a friend in the Rhinebeck/Dutchess County area at least once a year.

Previously, we would spoil ourselves and have a nice meal at Another Fork In The Road.  That restaurant closed unexpectedly during the spring.  However, when one door closes, another one opens.  We had a wonderful meal at The Amsterdam last weekend, when I was in Rhinebeck.

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 12.42.53 PM

Housemade rosemary chips.  Very crispy and perfectly addicitive.

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 12.43.07 PM

Mushrooms with a soft egg.

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 12.43.18 PM

Arctic char with fingerling potatoes, grilled bok choy, grilled scallions and green goddess dressing.  In my previous post, I mentioned grilled scallions.  This is what I was referencing.  I could find no faults with this dish.

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 12.43.30 PM

Someone at my table ordered from the specials menu, short ribs braised in red wine.  Overall flavor was well received, but there was a comment that the ribs were not as fork tender as it should have been.

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 12.43.39 PM

Honey cakes for dessert.  They were delicious and not a monstrous size.

The photos aren’t even everything that was ordered for our table.  We ended up with some leftovers, which I in turn used to make a posh breakfast: toast with grilled green beans, mushrooms, and mixed nuts.  I am determined to make something like this again in my home kitchen on a weekend where I am feeling decadent.

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 12.43.50 PM

If you ever find yourself in Rhinebeck, NY, you should swing by The Amsterdam for a bite or two or ten.  (^_~)

https://www.lovetheamsterdam.com/

Leave a Reply

