Compact Cooking, cookbook review

Happy New Year, everyone! Sorry I haven’t posted in some time. It’s because books that I was expecting to get before the holidays all got delayed. It is what it is. But here’s to the first cookbook review of 2024!

I think it’s pretty obvious that I don’t live in a dorm since I have a cookbook review blog. I have a functional kitchen, but I don’t have a great kitchen.  I have zero counter space, and barely a work table.  It’s probably why I dislike doing complicated cooking projects. I’m also someone who mostly cooks for one, so Jenna Hunter’s new cookbook, “Compact Cooking: Big Flavor from Small Kitchens”, captured my attention by title alone.  The recipes in this book vary in cooking methods, utilizing the air fryer, the slow cooker, the microwave, hot plate/stove top, and toaster oven/standard oven.  But most of the recipes only make 1-2 servings.  (Some make 3 servings, and I think there’s only 1 recipe that makes more than 3.)

The book is broken down into:

  • Simple Breakfasts (Feelin’ Somethin’ Savory?  Feelin’ Somethin’ Sweet?)
  • Effortless Lunches (Simple Soups, Satisfying Salads, Sandwichin’ It)
  • Satisfying Snacks
  • Easy-Peasy Dinners (Dinners in a Dash, Slow and Steady Suppers)
  • Sweet Treats (Quick Fixes, Indulgent Treats)

Some things you’ll find in here are:

  • Lazy tomato and egg bake
  • Baked sliced peach
  • Cake for breakfast
  • Warm chicken and kale salad
  • Hearty vegetarian bowl
  • Mom’s couscous salad
  • Sweet ‘n salty turkey melt
  • Baked jalapeno, raspberry, and cream cheese dip
  • Air fryer crab cakes
  • Cheesy garlicky spaghetti squash
  • Chicken tikka masala
  • Tavern pot roast
  • Garlic chicken parm pasta
  • Date caramel dip
  • Mason jar cinnamon-spiced vanilla ice cream

Because I had leftover bread that I really wanted to use up, I first made the “Any Berry French Toast Muffins.”  Made from whole wheat bread, eggs, milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and frozen berries (cherries for me), this is a very easy recipe to put together.  The only change I made was to use a small cake pan to bake the French toast/bread pudding/casserole, instead of a muffin pan.  I loved the amount it made.  I didn’t have to worry about being stuck with too much in leftovers.  It is a little on the bland side because there isn’t any added sugar or salt.  However, it’s the perfect vehicle for a drizzle of maple syrup (my favorite sweetener of all time).  I’m already planning on remaking this but maybe swapping out the frozen berries with fruit spread (which I have in abundance in my fridge).

The second recipe I made was for the “Comforting Winter Soup.”  I don’t know why but I fixated on this recipe the moment I saw it.  It’s made with smoked sausage, butternut squash, spinach, onion, beef broth, smoked paprika, black pepper, and garlic powder in a slow cooker.  Since this recipe was for 3 servings, I used my 4.5 quart slow cooker which ended up being a mistake.  Even before I added the spinach, my slow cooker was filled nearly to the top.  I ended up letting this cook until the butternut squash was done, spooning it out, and then adding the spinach to cook.  While very easy to put together, I didn’t love this soup as much as I thought I would.  I wonder if I would like this better on the stovetop.  Butternut squash is one of my favorite vegetables, but the flavor of it mostly disappeared here on the long cook time.  Maybe I would prefer to use a different spice over the smoked paprika?  Would that let the butternut squash flavor come though stronger?  I really liked the warmth the black pepper provided without being overly peppery but I think I need to workshop this recipe to appeal more to my taste buds.

I was originally going to stop at 2 recipe tests, but I felt bad that I didn’t love the winter soup.  So, I made the “Microwave Cranberry Pecan Breakfast Cookie.”  It’s made with applesauce, oil, maple syrup, brown sugar, vanilla, quick oats, flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, dried cranberries, chopped pecans, and white chocolate (optional).  I didn’t have cranberries, but I had pecans and white chocolate on hand so they went into the batter.  The reality is that it’s cooked in a microwave and will never get a cookie texture.  In essence, this is baked oatmeal for one.  The flavor is great, and it’s sweet like a cookie. It can definitely satisfy a sweet craving. If you don’t like the texture of baked oatmeal, you might not like this. In that case, maybe try eating this cold as it will firm up a bit. (It still won’t be a cookie, but it’ll feel less like baked oatmeal.) The only critique I have about this recipe is that it wants you to cook the batter in a 5″ microwave-safe bowl.  I technically didn’t have one, and I think most people won’t as well.  I ended up using my smallest Pyrex mixing bowl, and just shaping the batter nicely at the bottom.

Overall, I think this is a cute book. All recipes come with a photo of the finished dish so if you’re less comfortable with cooking, you might find the photos to be helpful. If you’re looking to cook with as few leftovers as possible, this is the book for you. If you’re looking for small kitchen appliance meal ideas and inspiration, or because you don’t have access to a normal kitchen, this book is for you. 

Disclaimer – I kindly received this book from Freemont Press/Victory Belt for this review.  I’m not getting paid for this post. The views and opinions expressed are purely my own. The book is available for purchase now from your preferred vendor.

Reference Links:

https://www.tiktok.com/@thehealthyhophead?lang=en

https://www.fremontpress.com/

Leave a comment